Marquette Elementary School Named National Blue Ribbon School 2021 | WJMN


WASHINGON, DC (WJMN) – An elementary school in Marquette was among 13 schools in Michigan recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2021.

Graveraet Elementary School in the Marquette Region Public School District has been named an Exemplary High Performance School by US Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona.

“I am so proud of all of our staff, of all of our students and of our families, of everyone here at Graveraet Primary School, because we have all made a conscious effort and a priority over the past seven years for ourselves. focus on what matters most, meeting the needs of the whole child, ”said Dr Sarah Kemppainen, Director of Graveraet. “When students feel safe, trust us and with us, and know that there are teachers and staff who genuinely care and love them, they are able to challenge themselves. and grow academically, socially and emotionally. While all of us at Graveraet agree that academic goals are important, we also share the firm belief that no academic goal is worth a child’s soul.

A total of 325 schools have been recognized nationally based on the overall academic performance of each school or on progress made in reducing achievement gaps among subgroups of students. Secretary Cardona made the announcement when he returned to school as he visited an award-winning school, Walter R. Sundling Jr. High School in Palatine, Illinois.

Schools in Michigan named National Blue Ribbon Schools were:

  • Ann Arbor – Martin Luther King Elementary School, Ann Arbor Public School District.
  • Avoca – Avoca Elementary School, Yale Public School District.
  • Bloomfield Hills – Conant Elementary School, Bloomfield Hills School District.
  • Caledonia – Dutton Elementary School, Caledonia Community School District.
  • Dearborn – Haigh Elementary School, Dearborn City School District.
  • Dearborn – Henry Ford Early College, Dearborn City School District.
  • Douglas – Douglas Elementary School, Saugatuck Public Schools.
  • Holland – Lakeshore Elementary School, West Ottawa Public Schools.
  • Lake Orion – Webber Elementary School, Lake Orion Community School District.
  • Marquette – Graveraet primary school, public school district of the Marquette region.
  • Mason – Alaiedon Elementary School, Mason Public School District (Ingham).
  • Troy – Barnard Elementary School, Troy School District.
  • Troy – Leonard Elementary School, Troy School District.

“This year’s cohort of recipients demonstrate what is possible when engaged educators and school leaders create vibrant, welcoming and empowering school cultures where rich teaching and learning can flourish,” Cardona said. “I congratulate all of our Blue Ribbon recipients for working to keep students healthy and safe while meeting their academic, social, emotional and mental health needs. In the face of unprecedented circumstances, you have found creative ways to involve, care for, protect and teach our children. Blue Ribbon Schools have so much to offer and can serve as a model for other schools and communities so that we can truly build back better.

The Department recognizes all schools in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, student subgroup scores, and graduation rates:

  • Exemplary and efficient schools are among the best performing schools in their state, based on state assessments or nationally standardized tests.
  • Schools bridging the gap in exemplary achievement are among the best performing schools in their state at bridging achievement gaps between groups of students in a school and all students.

Up to 420 schools can be nominated each year. The department invites nominations from the Blue Ribbon National Schools by the highest education official in all states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Department of Defense Education and the Office of the Indian education. Private schools are appointed by the Council for American Private Education.

Source link


Leave A Reply