Lake Washington School District: Rosa Parks Elementary School named Blue Ribbon National School 2021


September 21, 2021

One of 325 nationally recognized schools and the only school in Washington to be awarded

Redmond, Wash. – Rosa Parks Elementary School has been named the 2021 National Blue Ribbon School by the US Department of Education. Recognition is based on the overall academic performance of a school.

“This year’s cohort of laureates demonstrate what is possible when engaged educators and school leaders create vibrant, welcoming and empowering school cultures where rich teaching and learning can flourish,” Secretary Cardona said. . “I congratulate this school and all of our Blue Ribbon recipients for working to keep students healthy and safe while meeting their academic, social, emotional and mental health needs. In the face of unprecedented circumstances, you have found creative ways to engage, care for, protect and teach our children Blue Ribbon Schools have so much to offer and can serve as a role model for other schools and communities so that we can truly build back better.

The coveted National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the hard work of educators, families and communities to create safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content. Now in its 39th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has awarded approximately 10,000 awards to more than 9,000 schools.

“Rosa Parks Elementary School is a truly special school community for students, families and staff,” said Melissa Doering, Principal. “I am very grateful to lead this unique and diverse community of learners for a fourth year, and I believe this award recognizes the continued dedication of our world-class teaching staff and our community supporting our student success. We are so proud of this accomplishment, and we will continue to learn, monitor and adapt to meet the needs of our children. ”

“We are very proud of the Rosa Parks Elementary School community for receiving a National Blue Ribbon Award,” said Dr. Jon Holmen, Superintendent of the Lake Washington School District. “This award is indicative of the work being done in our schools to provide excellent learning opportunities for students while supporting their socio-emotional health.”

Up to 420 schools can be nominated each year. The department invites nominations from the Blue Ribbon National Schools by the highest education official in all states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Department of Defense Education and the Office of the Indian education. Private schools are appointed by the Council for American Private Education.

Source link


Leave A Reply