High School Baseball: Westwood, Elkhart Land First-Team All-District Players | Sports


The Westwood Panthers and Elkhart Elks both had their fair share of representatives in the 20-3A District first team.

For Westwood, Infielders Joey Garza and Outfielder Jordan Velasquez represented the Panthers on the first team. Garza finished his season with three assists and 16 strikeouts from the field. Velasquez led the team with 23 hits. He also had 15 singles, eight doubles and 10 RBIs.

For Elkhart, outfielder Jhonathan Meyer and infielders Hunter Evans and Brayden Chambless received first-team honors. Evans signed his national letter of intent earlier this year to play baseball at LeTourneau University.

Evans recorded 19 hits in his district run and nine RBIs, including four in his 10-6 win over Westwood. Chambless followed behind with 17 hits and 11 RBIs. He had four RBIs in their 18-2 win over the Crockett Bulldogs. Meyer enveloped the district with 13 hits and six RBIs.

Elkhart Pitcher Corbin Whitfield earned second-team honors for the Elks, along with Gavin Shirey. Both Conner Walker and Park Warren received honorable mentions.

Westwood’s Noah Cheatham joined the second team.

In district superlatives, Franklin’s Dylan Rhoden was honored as MVP. Fairfield’s Cal Wilson was named Newcomer of the Year, Franklin’s Cort Lowry was Offensive MVP, Groesbeck’s Brenden Morrow was Defensive MVP, Fairfield’s Kaden Crawford was Pitcher of the Year, Franklin’s Josh Atomancyzk was Utility Player of the year, while Franklin’s Matthew Anderson was named coach of the year.


Comments are closed.