CONTACT: Lora Rakowski, [email protected]

2022-23 MARYLAND

BALTIMORE, MD (October 6, 2022) – At a celebration of Maryland teachers this evening, the Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) announced Maryland’s 2022-23 Teacher of the Year: Berol Dewdney, preschool teacher -kindergarten at Commodore John Rodgers School in the Baltimore City Public Schools system.

The 2022-23 Maryland Teacher of the Year program was co-hosted by Brianna Ross, Maryland 2022 Teacher of the Year, and Denise Koch of WJZ-13 on MPT2 and online at mpt. org/toy. On the special hosted by Maryland Public Television (MPT), MSDE made the announcement while honoring Maryland teachers and their commitment to excellence in education. While also marking the 32nd year of Maryland’s Teacher of the Year program, the special featured Maryland’s 24 local Teachers of the Year. Lieutenant Governor Boyd K. Rutherford and State Superintendent of Schools Mohammed Choudhury congratulated Maryland educators with special messages.

“I want to congratulate Mrs. Dewdney on this tremendous achievement, along with the leaders, educators and students of Commodore John Rodgers School,” Governor Hogan said. “Maryland’s teachers are some of the best in the country. They play a vital role in educating and inspiring the next generation of leaders, and I want to thank each of them for their commitment to public service.

Ms. Dewdney, a preschool teacher, believes that education is fundamental to the practice of freedom and democracy itself. Ms. Dewdney received her BA from Colby College (2013) and her MA from Johns Hopkins (2015). A designated role model teacher, she will enter her tenth year teaching pre-kindergarten at Commodore John Rodgers and serve as a team leader, Tools of the Mind-approved curriculum leader, and instructional coach throughout the district.

Ms. Dewdney will continue to compete for the National Teacher of the Year award, which will be announced in April 2023. She will spend the coming year as a speaker and counselor in Maryland and will also join other state winners. -United. in programs and events hosted by the National Teacher of the Year Program, including a ceremony at the White House.

“On behalf of the Maryland State Board of Education, I extend my sincere congratulations to Ms. Dewdney and all of Maryland’s outstanding educators who are a true inspiration to their colleagues and students,” said State Board Chairman, Clarence C. Crawford. “Student success in Maryland begins with dedicated teachers who are integral to ensuring that our students receive a high-quality education and positive learning experiences.”

The finalists were selected by a panel of judges from key education organizations across Maryland representing principals, teachers, school boards and teacher unions. The selection criteria were based on a rigorous set of written accounts and interviews that included discussions of student engagement, creativity in instruction, improving school culture, education and teaching ranging beyond the classroom, community collaboration and student outcomes.

“On behalf of the teachers of the State of Maryland, I extend my warmest congratulations to Mrs. Dewdney and the Commodore John Rodgers school community! Mrs. Dewdney’s dedication to our youngest learners has a fundamental impact on the success of their school careers and, indeed, their lives,” said State Council Member Rachel McCusker. “I know she will embrace the professional adventure ahead of her, proudly representing the State of Maryland as a As a participant in the National Teacher of the Year program. Congratulations to all of the local Teachers of the Year and thank you for the exceptional things you do every day to build strong, resilient minds that will shape Maryland communities for years to come!

“We know that the most important academic factor in student success is the teacher in front of the class. Teachers have a profound impact on the positive trajectory of students’ lives, and we must recognize, support and uplift these accomplished professionals, who bring their knowledge, skills and passion to classrooms across the state,” said said State Superintendent Mohammed Choudhury. “As an early childhood educator, Ms. Dewdney lays the foundation for positive outcomes in school and in life. On behalf of the Maryland State Department of Education, congratulations on this remarkable achievement and thank you for all you do to help us move the Generation Blueprint forward.

Ms. Dewdney was selected from a group of seven outstanding finalists announced last month, including: Charles Whittaker, of Anne Arundel County Public Schools; Alicia Amaral Freeman, Baltimore County Public Schools; Jonathan Kurtz, Frederick County Public Schools; Ashley Gereli, Harford County Public Schools; Elizabeth McDonald, Washington County Public Schools; and Rebecca Mathews, Wicomico County Public Schools.

“Our Maryland students, educators, school leaders, families and communities are unstoppable,” said Berol Dewdney, Maryland’s 2022-23 Teacher of the Year and teacher at Commodore John Rodgers Elementary in Baltimore City. “I am forever grateful for the honor and privilege it is to learn from their leadership and serve alongside their revolutionary power. As my pre-kindergarten students cheer daily, “We are ready to lead! “Maryland will lead with love and build an equitable world worthy of our students’ greatness by elevating their leadership.

The Maryland Teacher of the Year program is sponsored by the Maryland State Department of Education with its presenting partners, McDonalds® Family Restaurants of Baltimore and Northrop Grumman Corporation, as well as platinum sponsors: Maryland Public Television, NTA Life/a Horace Mann Company, and The Whiting Turner Contracting Company. Gold sponsors are Baltimore Sun, Bank of America, Maryland State Education Association and WJZ-13.

# # #

Maryland’s 2022-23 Teacher of the Year Press Release


Comments are closed.