area schools shine as WIAA names Award of Excellence recipients | High school sports


The WIAA recognized 33 schools that met the criteria to be named recipients of the Award of Excellence in 2020-2021.

Two of the 33 schools, Baraboo and Stoughton, have received the honor for the fifth time in the five years since the award began, according to a statement from WIAA Director of Communications Todd Clark.

Five schools received the award for the fourth time, including Fort Atkinson, Watertown, Brookwood, Kimberly and Racine Prairie School. Nine schools obtained recognition for the first time.

The award promotes and recognizes the efforts and achievements of schools in the areas of fair play, ethics, integrity, leadership and character.

For the second year in a row, schools and athletic administrators experienced additional challenges in 2020-2021 with the COVID-19 pandemic, which affected guidelines, accommodations and schedule changes.

All four schools in the Madison School District have been recognized.

Area and area schools that were recognized included Baraboo, Beaver Dam, Fort Atkinson, Janesville Craig, Lake Mills, Madison East, Madison La Follette, Madison Memorial, Madison West, Oregon, Stoughton, Watertown, and Wisconsin Dells.

The recipients of the Award of Excellence included:

Baraboo, Beaver Dam, Brookwood, Crivitz, Milwaukee Divine Savior Holy Angels, Elkhorn, Fort Atkinson, Germantown, Hilbert, Hortonville, Janesville Craig, Kenosha Christian Life, Kimberly, Lake Holcombe, Lake Mills, Madison East, Madison La Follette, Madison Memorial , Madison West, Marshfield, Mayville, Muskego, Onalaska, Oregon, Stoughton, Stratford, Racine Prairie School, Watertown, Wausau West, West Bend West, Fond du Lac Winnebago Lutheran, Winter and Wisconsin Dells.


Leave A Reply